Speaker Recognition Awards

The SHEA Spring Speaker Recognition Program is a peer-driven distinction program that pays tribute to excellent and engaging speakers and top sessions identified during the conference. Recipients will receive recognition from SHEA’s President. Every attendee will be able to provide their vote on the best of the best! The Speaker Recognition Award categories are as follows:

  • Best Session Award

    The Best Session Award recognizes an outstanding session, within the full conference program, that most consistently represents the topic and objectives of the named session. Each of the speakers during this session has contributed significantly to the overall educational value and presented it in an effective manner. Individual presentations within the session may have some differences in style but should be supportive and complementary of the others.

    Criteria: Overall impression of the session should be noteworthy for consistent excellence amongst all the individual presentations as well as collaborative and supportive in content.

    Current Winners:

    2023: Opening Plenary-Addressing Inequities in Healthcare Epidemiology: Where We Are and Where We’re Headed

    Jasmine Marcelin, MD
    University of Nebraska Medical Center
    Lauren Sauer, MSc
    University of Nebraska Medical Center

    Past Winners:

    2022: Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Access in Antimicrobial Stewardship, Hospital Epidemiology and The Public Health Workforce

    Ibukun Kalu, MD
    Jasmine Marcelin, MD
    Loretta Christensen, MD

  • Notable New Speaker Award

    The Notable New Speaker Award recognizes a new speaker to SHEA Spring Conference that presents an outstanding and noteworthy session including speakers within the full conference and plenary programming. A “new” speaker is determined as someone who hasn’t presented in a previous SHEA Spring Conference, limited to the three years prior.

    Criteria: The notable new speaker’s presentation should represent the topic and objectives and be presented in an effective manner. This award should highlight someone whom you would enjoy hearing again in the future.

    Current Winner:

    2023: Updates in Clostridioides difficile Diagnosis and Management

    Scott Curry, MD, MS
    Medical University of South Carolina

    Past Winner:

    2022: Sonali Advani, MBBS, MPH

  • Training Course Speaker Award

    This award recognizes the speaker in each Training Course who best exemplifies the most effective speaker providing expertise, inspiration, and creativity in the delivery of their presentation.

    CriteriaThe Training Course Speaker Award should promote active learning and successfully encourage participants to think critically and independently. The speaker should be interactive and effective in covering the topic and objectives. This award should highlight someone whom you would enjoy hearing again in the future.

    Current  Winners:

    SHEA/CDC Healthcare Epi Training Course

    2023: The Hospital Epidemiologist as a Clinical Educator

    Tom Sandora, MD, MPH
    Boston Children’s Hospital

    Antibiotic Stewardship Training Course

    2023: Antibiotic Stewardship State of the Union

    Priya Nori, MD
    Montefiore Medical Center

    Past  Winners:

    SHEA/CDC Healthcare Epi Training Course

    2022: Sarah Haessler, MD, MS

    Antibiotic Stewardship Training Course

    2022: Emily Spivak, MD

  • Spring Theme Speaker Award

    This award recognizes the speaker that best aligns with this year’s conference theme. The speaker has reflected on innovative ideas that will likely be a part of routine infection prevention or antimicrobial stewardship practices in the next 5-10 years.

    CriteriaA speaker that discusses a topic related to infection prevention or antimicrobial stewardship that may have a major impact in our community of practice in the next 5-10 years. This may be, for example, novel strategies for stewardship or infection prevention that are likely to be at the forefront of our practice, but at the moment is not. The ideal candidate or speaker would present a topic that, though novel today, may reflect common practice in future years.

    Current Winner:

    2023: Leadership and Communication Skills

    Hilary Babcock, MD, MPH
    Washington University School of Medicine

    Past Winner:

    2022: Brad Spellberg, MD

Make sure you complete your SHEA Spring evaluation after the conference to provide your input on these awards!